Personal injury law can sometimes seem muddled and confusing. We want to help you understand some important aspects of that law. Here are three major points that you need to know about personal injury lawsuits in our state:
- Statute of limitations – In Minnesota, an individual has two years from the date of their injury to submit a lawsuit to the court system. It is important to keep this time-frame in mind because if settlement talks drag out too long, you could run out of time to have your case heard by the court.
- Shared fault – Our state is one of several that are called a “shared fault state.” This means that if you are bringing a personal injury lawsuit against another individual, they are not automatically 100% at-fault. Your actions will be taken into consideration, and if you are found to be partially at-fault for the accident, your compensation can be affected. Depending on the percentage that you are found to be at-fault (if any), your compensation will go down by that same amount (ie, instead of receiving the full $20,000 that you have been awarded, because you were found to be 10% at-fault, you will lose 10% of that award — you will win $18,000). If you are found to be 50% or more at-fault, you will win nothing.
- Government claims are different – If you are pursuing a personal injury suit against the Minnesota government, either an individual employee or an agency, the statute of limitations is radically reduced. You have only 180 days from the date of your injury to file your claim in this instance, whether it is against the local government or the state.
If you have any questions about filing a personal injury claim, please contact us. We will review your case for free and talk with you about what your options are and what the best next step for your claim would be.